How can IPB improve skinning?

Discussion in 'IP.Board Discussions' started by BamaStangGuy, Nov 18, 2009.

1. BamaStangGuy

BamaStangGuy Administrator

It seems IPB has the biggest flaw here. It is so much harder to skin for than vBulletin. What do you think they can do to get better in this area?

2. David

David Regular Member

It was compared to vB3, but vB4 seems to be taking over as more complicated to skin.

I think they have way to much php and trash in their templates and need to find a way to move it all out and provide phrases like vBulletin does.

IPB Skinning was really the only area of complaint for me when I had an IP.Board license. But I guess after a while I would have got used to it

3. Nick

Nick Regular Member

I'm not a designer, so obviously have nothing to do with skinning, but from what I remember of when I used IPB 2.x, the templates always baffled me. It was so different that vBulletin's templates (which were so easy in 3.x) and I just never dealt with them. :shrug:

4. Mike

Mike Adept

First Name:
    Mike
    3 people like this.
  5. Peggy

Peggy Regular Member

6. Shelley

Shelley Regular Member

Indeed a nice link. I think that link needs to be stickied in the ipb area here with other informative links that could be added along side this in the future.

7. Boss

Boss Resident Silly Man

First Name:
    Alex
    Yeah, the last time I spoke to a developer I was told they might come up with a similar guide or just use that and credit the author. Works a treat actually.

8. ArnyVee

ArnyVee Regular Member

9. MattMecham

MattMecham Novice

I have a couple of ideas to enable you to make sweeping 'simple' changes for future versions.

Right now our skin uses CSS quite heavily. This is good because you can make major changes to the layout without tweaking the HTML but the downside is a steep learning curve to locate all the item locations.

10. BamaStangGuy

BamaStangGuy Administrator