Blank/white page - Quick Reply

Discussion in 'vBulletin Discussions' started by Nick, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. Nick

    Nick Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,441
    Likes Received:
    218
    I was going to ask on vBCodex.com, but it's closed for maintenance (upgrades), so I'll ask here:

    I recently implemented an AdSense link unit after the 10th post in a thread by simply adding the code to the end of the postbit template, using a conditional to only display it after the first and tenth posts. All is fine and dandy.

    The problem is, if I go to a thread that has 9 posts, and I submit the 10th post via Quick Reply, I get taken to a blank white page. The post goes through, because if I "go back" and then refresh, it's there.
    This only happens when you submit the 10th post, so I'm 100% sure it's the AdSense link unit that is causing the issue.

    How would I go about resolving this? I have the same setup on another forum, but I don't have the issue there. Any ideas?
     
  2. Michael

    Michael Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    35
    I have had this problem before, replace the conditional youre using with this:

    <if condition="$post[postcount] == 10"></if>

    The one in use now I think includes the gpc ajax part which I am sure interferes.
     
  3. Nick

    Nick Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,441
    Likes Received:
    218
    That'll probably fix it. I was using an array that Wayne recently suggested, but I've resorted to the basic one you posted.
     
  4. Michael

    Michael Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    35
    Anyone confirm it working when posting the tenth post? Im not sure about this but maybe its vbseo related and not liking the conditional or something :shrug:
     
  5. Nick

    Nick Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,441
    Likes Received:
    218
    Hm you might be right. The problem still exists (I just tested it out again).

    Not sure how to resolve it... :shrug:
     
  6. Michael

    Michael Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    35
    Nick, was this your original code?

    <if condition="$post['islastshown'] AND !$GLOBALS['vbulletin']->GPC['ajax']">

    If not, try that as thats the only other way I know of getting them to show after the last post, although that may put them after every last post on the page regardless of the amount.
     
  7. Nick

    Nick Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,441
    Likes Received:
    218
    No, I didn't use that originally. I also don't want it to show after the last post - only after the 1st and 10th. The 10th isn't the last post, IIRC. I'm not sure what the default setting is, so I could be wrong.
     
  8. Michael

    Michael Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    35
    Hmm I honestly havent got any other ideas what it could be.
     

Share This Page