Adding custom profile fields to post bit...

Discussion in 'vBulletin Discussions' started by MordyT, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. MordyT

    MordyT Grand Master

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    50
    First Name:
    Mordy
    So I am trying to add some custom profile fields to post bit...but the field is a selection box...

    Kinda like AA's "level of admin experience"

    Running vb4.0.1 btw...

    I found this thread, but they don't know either...
     
  2. Ryan Ashbrook

    Ryan Ashbrook Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    If it's single selection, all you need to do is:

    Code:
    <vb:if condition="$post['fieldX']"><dt>Fieldname:</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.fieldX}</dd></vb:if>
    And the users selection with show up.

    I just tested this.

    Take note, though, that vBulletin 4 uses the "postbit_legacy" template by default, not "postbit".

    I suspect that is your problem.
     
    2 people like this.
  3. MordyT

    MordyT Grand Master

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    50
    First Name:
    Mordy
    That is the code that they gave on vb.org. It works perfect for fields that you "fill in the line" but not for fields that a selection is provided and you select one or more from a dropdown list...

    That is the code I am looking for. I gave you thanks for trying though...
     
  4. Ryan Ashbrook

    Ryan Ashbrook Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Should've specified Multiple Selection. ;)

    I'll see what I can whip up.
     
  5. Ryan Ashbrook

    Ryan Ashbrook Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Yeah, I see the problem. I wouldn't know where to begin to fix it, though. I haven't dived into Profile Fields that much (especially not Multi-Selections).

    I'll keep digging around in between coding my projects, but if you find another solution feel free to share.
     
    2 people like this.
  6. MordyT

    MordyT Grand Master

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    50
    First Name:
    Mordy
    I appreciate it.
    Thanks for helping!
     

Share This Page